Play the Dandiya

Hello people

Navratri has just began and you can fell its magic  as the night approaches. It is one of the festival, celebrated in every corner of the city. The liveliness of it forces you to dance on the rhythm of the songs leaving behind all the stress  and worries. Navratri is a festival celebrated by Hindus all over India in different ways. This festival is celebrated as the triumph of goodness (Ma Durga) over the evil (demon Mahishasura. This dance is performed by men and women.

dsc_0193

Each festival has some memories attached with it especially of the fun, food, its rich culture which we cannot forget in our lifetime. And Navratri holds some of those special memories for me too. I remember the first time when I was introduced to garba. A five year old girl dressed in ghagra choli with sticks in her hand was put in the middle of adults playing on the beat of some random song, not knowing what she was supposed to do.Surprisingly she started hitting people around her with those sticks 😂.Wait if you think i was that kid then let me tell u it wasn’t me. It was few minutes after that, when I came in the picture when my mom gave me a pair of sticks and asked me to play with her as we were of the same age. That was the first time I played garba and ever since then I have loved this festival.

img_1423

Apart from it this festival holds special significance for me as it is celebrated in honor of goddess Durga who not only my inspiration but is my role model as well. She not only symbolizes power, rage ,force but also is an example of what a women can do. It also shows that there resides an infinite power hidden deep inside every women that needs to be explored by them, showing them what they are capable of. The very idea rejuvenates a whole new source of energy within me giving me strength and power to fight against the odds and achieve what I want. That is why I love this festival so much.

dsc_0194

For women it is the time to enjoy to the fullest whereas for men it is a perfect place to hit on women 😜.For everyone, these 9 days are equivalent to dancing in a club. And if you don’t know how to play dandiya your friends will make it their life’s mission to teach you the basics steps of it. Well jokes apart but when it comes to playing the dandiya no matter what I enjoy every moment of it forgetting all my tension and worries. To get the full feel of the festival I usually wear a traditional attire when I go to play. Today I’m going to show one of those attire. Here I’m wearing a multi-color ghagra with a heavy work choli and a bhandhani dupatta. As no look is complete without accessories so, here I’m wearing silver neckpiece accompanied by matching earings , a waist band and kada in hand. And last but not the least a pair of dandias completed the look. Tada I’m good to go.

dsc_0040

If you want to go for an indo western look you can pair the ghagra with a heavy work kurti and matching dupatta.

img_1398

Do you like my post? I would love to hear from you.

Loads of love❤

Meenal Ranka.

Leave a Reply

