“St. Mary’s we love you”

“St.Mary’s gave us all, With hands made ready
She gave us more than gold, Lives strong and steady.

So we will sing of you, St. Mary’s our mother true
St. Mary’s we love you, St. Mary’s we love you…”

If you are or were a St. Marian you can totally relate to it as it’s our school anthem. God!! I just love my school. A girl in white and blue with that ‘chindi’ ribbon, I still remember the 1st time I stepped in this school in 2000. The school building was still under construction and only the ground floor was ready.  This was the 2nd branch of St. Mary’s in Udaipur and I was the 139th student of the school. It is often said ‘school is your 2nd home’ and St. Marys was truly my 2nd home for 14 years. I have loved it ever since. Over the years it has grown and now along the 3 storied building, it has a huge separate auditorium, a separate building for primary section , a convent, a hospital, two huge lawns and a basketball and a football ground and the list goes on and on. Now you can imagine the spacious and large area it owns . With all the facilities we had wonderful teachers who took care of us like their own kids and were a guiding force for us.

st-marys-school-logo-emblem

The Emblem of St.Marys

The Lily symbolizes Mother Mary and the three stars symbolize purity, truth and goodness.  S.M.A stands for the full name of the Institution: ST. Mary of the Angels.

I have so many good memories of the time I have spent here. It gave me some of the craziest friends, who taught me to live life, enjoy every moment of it and the value of friendship. I miss my school so much. My favorite place was the school library, I used to bunk my classes and sit for hours in the library. This schools has given me so much. Every corner, from the stage to the restroom, each and every part of it hold so many special memories .

Beginning of St. Mary’s Teetardi

 b2

b3

Sources: http://www.stmarysteetardiudaipur.edu.in

Recently I visited my school, although it has changed very much and there are only a few teachers whom I know, but it still gives a feeling of love and comfort, a sense of belongingness. It brought back all the memories I had of it. Back then in 2000, our principal was sister Deepti for around 8 years she nurtured us with her love and scolded us when required. Then we had Sister Kiran, God!! She was so strict. Our class has spent half of the time in her office for some or the other mischiefs that we did. And then we had Sister Yvette who was a blend of both the former principals. In July this year Sister Deepti returned and the best thing about her is that she still remembers us. Although she has grown old still she could tell who I was and that is the time you feel good about yourself.

img_2018

I just can’t express the way I feel towards this school. And I know all these things will always be with me as we say: “In St. Marys heart we have found and lasting home”.

Along with these unforgettable memories it has also given me my identity – My identity as a ‘St. Marian’. I can just sum up by saying “St. Mary’s we love you”.

Hope it brought back some of your school memories.

Loads of Love

Meenal Ranka.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. John says:

    I will right away take hold of your rss as I can not to find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognize in order that I could subscribe.

    Thanks.

    Like

    1. Meenal Ranka says:

      yes the follow button is for subscription. Thank you:)

      Like

  2. Jonathan says:

    Fairly! This was a truly excellent post. Thank you for your provided
    advice

    Like

Leave a Reply

